Easy Going Husband

My wonderful wife says I’m a pretty easy going husband.

I think that to whatever extent this is true, it is because I am usually able to find something to look forward to. Even if I am having a bad day, I am usually OK so long as I have something to look forward to. Normally, I arrange my week so that I have several moments that I can’t wait to reach.

Before I moved to be with my wife, I looked forward to playing soccer more than anything else.

Now, I am always on the lookout for new things.

It is harder and easier than you might think. For example, I was able to find a new soccer group through a social networking site, but there is something to be said for playing sports amongst your friends rather than a group of strangers.

Especially if you never learned to speak Spanish.

And especially if you aren’t a very strong player.

Lately, my wife and I tend to look forward to our favorite spinning class at the gym, I look forward to yoga, and we seem to have made Thursday night our “basketball and chicken wings” night.

I could probably go on like this all year.

After all, I am an easy going husband.

However, the seasons change, and I guess we change with them. Believe it or not, spring is upon us and summer is coming. For my wonderful wife, this means triathlons. I will probably enter one as well. Hopefully, it will be awesome.

However easy going I may be, to be honest, I have always preferred winter to summer. I like the early evenings, the holidays, and winter fashions. In summer, I don’t sleep as well, I hate the heat, and it just seems like everyone is a little wilder and louder.

So I am trying to make a list of things to look forward to, besides winter.

So far, I have:

  • Soccer
  • Grilling

It may not be much of a list, but I’m pretty easy going.

6 Responses to “Easy Going Husband”

  1. ha! Winter over summer? Silly (former?) Canadian!

    Just kidding. I crave summer because I can get myself and my children outside more often and they sleep better, which is good for all of us. But, I suppose, I do dig sledding and such… I enjoy most seasons, so long as I make it a point to observe the highlights instead of taking them for granted.

    Perhaps I’m easy going also! Good point!

    • To be honest, if I could get a sort of permanent autumn, I would be satisfied. Beautiful colors, comfortable temperatures, and flexible fashion choices. Autumn has it all.

  2. I have an easygoing husband, too, but sadly I’m not a terribly easygoing wife. I get riled up a lot and rant about everyday things more than he’d like, but I also push him to do things he might miss out on because he’s horizontal on the sofa, so I guess it all evens out somehow. I think you’re off to a great start with your list.

Leave a Reply

