Hobbies, and How Do You Throw Your Money Away?

I look at my wife and my father and realize that I am not spending enough money on pointless hobbies and shiny things.

In my opinion, everyone has something that they want to spend their extra money on. Some people collect comics and others buy trucks. I try to resist judging people for their purchases.

But I don’t buy very much.

I realized this the other day when my wife took a course on training for triathlons. I picked her up when she finished and she said that the coaching was worth the money. On the way home, we went to a bicycle shop and my wife looked at the new bike she’s buying for this coming season. My wife has budgeted for this purchase for several months. It’s a beautiful bicycle, and it’s very light, which means that it’s very expensive compared to the bicycles I rode as a kid.

Then we went to the mall and my wife bought a charm bracelet.

Of all the things my wife bought that day, the bracelet struck me as being — by far — the least useful purchase. I didn’t say anything. (However, my wife afterward said that I had a strange expression on my face while she was buying it.) We met my wife’s sister afterward, who thought that the bracelet was beautiful and sparkly.

What do I know?

When I buy, I like to buy decent products.

That I don’t buy much perhaps suggests that it’s difficult to buy quality products these days. However, I think it has more to do with how I was raised. Growing up, my father was the same. He worked a lot and bought very little.

Now, my father has no fewer than four motorcycles. On a recent visit, he showed me his new snowmobile and then told me about the next motorcycle that he’s thinking about buying. Then he told me that he was going to get another tattoo. I saw my Dad talking to his friends about his motorcycles and tattoos, and I could see that they envied him for having such a dedicated passion for motorcycles and tattoos. In contrast, I’ve always found myself hoping that it was just a mid-life crisis — an adult word for “phase he’s going through” — but he’s been wearing doo-rags to weddings for ten years now. Rather than psychoanalyzing it, perhaps I should learn something from my father’s sea change.

Unfortunately, I don’t feel the need for tattoos, jewelry, or speedy vehicles.

Walking down the street this morning, I felt particularly proud of my boots, which are warm and which do a fine job of keeping my feet dry in the snow and sleet. I don’t think I’d have them tattooed on my arm, though.

And my sister-in-law never comments on how beautiful my boots are.

I think most people have an expensive hobby. What’s yours?

Because I am looking for one.

6 Responses to “Hobbies, and How Do You Throw Your Money Away?”

  1. Roller derby. I had an expensive habit of roller derby, which interestingly also encompassed my expensive tattoo habit. Since I’ve given derby up, I’m now focusing my extra funds into running shoes, Under Armer jogging wear, hopefully a new iPod to run with….

    I often sit and look at my Slightly over $1000 of accessories in my skate bag and scold myself for quitting, despite the broken knees, pinched nerves in my legs and lack of time with my little guys.

    Good luck finding a hobby. You write well… Perhaps you need a pen collection or an electronic gadget addiction?

    • I would never have thought that roller derby would be so expensive, but I guess all sports add up, don’t they? Maybe I’ll convince my wife that I need a new Mac to write more…

  2. I totally convinced my husband it was nearly free. But then, I had to buy skates, ($100), upgraded skates which could handle the wear ($350+), ceramic bearings ($200), super hard fast wheels ($115), mouth guard, (free, actually) knee pads ($60), helmet ($35) x 3, elbow pads ($45).. up graded knee pads ($75), dues ($35/month), uniforms, (randomly), team shirts, etc… and then doctors bills.. lol.

  3. Really enjoy your writing. But I didn’t want to sign up for wordpress just to like it, and I have no expensive hobby ideas just yet. I’ll get back to you.

Leave a Reply

