Hard-Boiled Eggs, Michael Pollan, and The Non-Fiction-Reader’s Dilemma

Non-fiction may be ruining my marriage.

Right now, I’m reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and I can’t stop talking about it. Unfortunately for my wife, the only person I really talk to is her.

“Don’t say ‘organic’ again!”

Don’t mess with a wife that is armed with a hard-boiled egg.

Don’t ask whether that egg was produced locally.

Thank you, Michael Pollan.

To be honest, I grew up on a pretty strict diet of fiction — especially science fiction and fantasy. However, I’ve lately been making more time for non-fiction, which I suspect is a common sign that we’re getting older.

(Standouts? David Grann’s The Lost City of Z is an excellent work about Amazonian exploration at the end of the Victorian Era; controversial or not, Richard Dawkins is a talented writer; my favorite memoir over the last few years has been Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.)

It’s strange how we change as we age, and it’s not just books.

When I was a kid, I was very allergic to mosquitoes. Thankfully, I now barely react to mosquito bites. Unfortunately, my hair is colonizing new worlds at an alarming rate.

When I was in university, I was determined not to marry, to avoid the United States, and to never keep cats or dogs.

0 for 3!

I loved being in university, but perhaps it’s for the best that we are given the chance to change as we age. It allows us to overcome our mistakes, which I suppose is one path to wisdom.

And it will take all of my accumulated wisdom to figure out how to talk to my wife about alternative farming practices if I’m going to avoid having a hard-boiled egg thrown at me.

2 Responses to “Hard-Boiled Eggs, Michael Pollan, and The Non-Fiction-Reader’s Dilemma”

  1. Sorry if I post twice. Wasn’t signed in correctly…

    Anyhow, funny post as always! I’d suggest rubbing her feet or back while trying to have this convo with her. The longer she desire feeling your massage, the longer she’ll entertain your message. Might give you a fighting chance.

    And the states aren’t so bad, are they? Where are you from?

    • Thanks Mel. I am not sure that your advice will work, but I will give it a go.

      As for your final two questions, I grew up in Canada. In my university days, I was very opposed to the invasion. I still have concerns about our many of our policies, but I honestly feel very lucky to live here.

Leave a Reply

