Hot Peppers, The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and Thai Food

My father is a big fan of hot peppers, so every time my mom was away at supper, my Dad shuffled us into the kitchen to make “real” chili. In other words, we would be adding ground beef and beans to a pile of hot peppers. I recently read a guide to eating hot peppers and realized that it’s been quite a while since I last ate anything hotter than a bell pepper.

Imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning and found these peppers hanging in our kitchen window.

Santa came twice this year!

At first, it seemed like Santa came twice this year, but then I remembered that my wife and I are having a Thai Food Week. My wife and I do our grocery planning together, but I had no idea that she’d picked up these deadly looking peppers.

Why Thai food week?

I’ve recently begun reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma as part of my burgeoning interest in fitness and nutrition. In some ways, there is very little in Pollan’s book that should come as a surprise: Americans are grossly overweight, food corporations prioritize profits over their consumers’ health, industrial farming is ecologically harmful, the American government is pathetically incapable of regulating food to maximize public health… What can we do?

In this talk, Pollan discusses the need for people to start cooking again as the first step towards reclaiming the kitchen and the supermarket. Although I haven’t read his newest book, Pollan explains that he attempted to create principles for eating healthfully based on cultural traditions.

A lot of people discuss diets as part of their New Year’s Resolutions, but maybe a themed week is a better start.

2 Responses to “Hot Peppers, The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and Thai Food”

  1. I love Thai, but I’ve never tried to make it myself. Great point about eating better by cooking your own food. I forget where we were, but it was some sandwich chain, and I ordered a chicken sandwich. Sounds healthy, but after I hate it, I found the chain’s nutrition card. That little chicken sandwich had almost 1,100 calories!

Leave a Reply

