Proverbs, Fitness, and Ringo Starr

As my hair continues to desert me, I find myself appreciating the wisdom of proverbs.

“Don’t judge a book by its cover.”

True.

But cliché.

I think my generation has a tendency to dismiss cliché expressions in daily life. Maybe we’ve gone too far. After all, “don’t throw the baby out with the bathwater.”

Maybe these old proverbs are worth considering.

For example, some say that “nothing worth doing is ever easy.” Of course, you wouldn’t know it from listening to American media. If pundits and talk show hosts are to be believed, everything in life is easier than I thought.

While at the gym, I recently watched Oprah interview a famous actress on her new diet book. “Being healthy is easy!” was the bland refrain. Oprah, a fount of wisdom, called for her audience to be “more conscientious” of their diet.

Consider the hamburger.

I’ve considered quite a few hamburgers, fries, pizzas, chips, and nachos in my time. So perhaps it is not surprising that I have been overweight for nearly as long as I can remember. However over the last two years, I’ve spent a lot of time trying to get fit. At the moment, I’m healthy according to most one-size-fits-all formulas.

I started with exercise, and it was not easy to incorporate into my routine. I had to make a plan, I had to research, and I was lucky to find friends that were also interested in devoting more time to fitness. We started running.

Next, I decided to look into weight training. Again, it took time and research, and I was lucky to have friends who shared this interest. Weight training took money. Eventually, I hired a personal trainer and I learned a lot.

My wife has since taught me a lot about nutrition and diet. Each weekend, we sit down and plan what we intend to eat for the week. This may sound predictable, but I find that I eat a greater variety of food now than I did before.

So lately, I’ve been shedding hair — but also pounds. Perhaps you should judge a book by its cover after all…

Still, I find this “it’s easier than you think!” refrain insulting. Losing weight has not been easy and I am proud of the progress I’ve made.

Perhaps anyone spouting this non-sense should consider the words of Ringo Starr — was he the wisest of the Beatles?

Leave a Reply

