“It’s The Thought That Counts,” Flowers, and Good Deals

After a year of wedded bliss, I can’t help worrying that my wife will start mentally categorizing me alongside unsliced bread, potato peels, and the garbage. I’ve been thinking of ways to impress my wife.

“Try flowers.”

Unfortunately, flowers have lost their impact, which perhaps shouldn’t come as a surprise.

But here’s something that worked pretty well for me.

I sent my wife an email that read:

Subject: Where Have All The Flowers Gone?

Wonderful Wife,

I rode my bicycle to the florist to buy you a dozen roses, but they didn’t look very good. Perhaps the season’s over. Sorry.

Handsome Husband

Here’s the thing.

No flowers were bought.

But she was impressed.

I can probably only use this trick like once a year, but next time, I won’t even have to go to the florist.

3 Responses to ““It’s The Thought That Counts,” Flowers, and Good Deals”

  1. Too cynical for my blood.

  2. I buy flowers about 2 times per year – one on an expected celebration (Anniversary or birthday) and one is completely random. The expected celebration flowers usually get a better response than the random flowers. The random flowers are greeted with suspicion.

    • I usually link flowers to certain days — first day back at work after a holiday or something along those lines. I will continue to buy flowers now and then, but I think I’m going to have to look for other options if I want to impress.

Leave a Reply

