Triathlons, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and No Excuses

It’s tough being married to someone that enters triathlons.

Quite impressively, my wonderful triathlete Swims, Cycles, and Runs while I Stand, Wait, and Cheer.

Supporting my wonderful wife in her triathlons means waking up at 3:00 a.m., driving to the run, freezing my butt off, saying “go Sweetie!” at the start of the race, waiting for an hour and half for her to finish, at which point I’ll say “go Sweetie!” again. Drive home.

My wonderful wife and I are recently wed, so at first I really felt like I should go to support her in these races.

A couple weeks ago, everything changed.

I was recovering from having my wisdom teeth out, so my wife told me to stay at home while she went to her race.

One of my favorite episodes of The Simpsons is the one where Homer skips church. He has the best day of his life. My day off was just like that. I hate to admit it, but it was the best day I’ve had since my wife and I started living together.

Each husband will have his own list of great things to do on a day off, but here are some of mine.

I slept in all the way to seven. I plugged in an old favorite on my iPod and walked to a nearby diner for breakfast. There, I comfortably read a book, drank a pot of coffee, and ate a blueberry muffin — apparently muffins can be toasted. High on caffeine, I returned home, mowed the lawn, washed the dishes, and cleaned the house. And it was fantastic.

I know it sounds like a pretty standard morning, but it wasn’t. It was one of those days where everything feels charmed: the air was brisk, the cats behaved, and I felt totally content.

My wife got home a little after lunch. She’d had a terrible race day. There was traffic, there were a lot of hills in the race, it rained, she’d gotten a cold, she felt terrible after finishing, she needed to sleep, etc.

Poor little wife!

Of course I helped her clean up her gear and tucked her in. Of course I did.

And then I went on with my wonderful day off.

When I think of that morning, I just feel this overwhelming desire to offer the universe my gratitude.

Thank you.

My wife says I have to go to her next race.

She says that she’s going to start entering me in these triathlons.

She says “no excuses.”

Triathlon season is six months away.

That gives us a lot of time.

Does anyone have a fool proof scheme to get out of racing in triathlons?

2 Responses to “Triathlons, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and No Excuses”

  1. That is one of my top ten favorite Simpson’s episodes:) Both of you having hobbies is a good thing, but it might be better for both of you to have different, seperate hobbies. That way, when you’re spending time with one another, you have something interesting to talk about. (Because convo that sounds like, “hey remember five mintues ago when you did that we were both there for” doesn’t remain interesting after the first year.) For instance, I play roller derby. My husband is a professional disc golfer. (Yes, there is such a thing. I know…) I used to disc golf with him, but I wasn’t good and so it wasn’t much fun. Life got better when I finally got my own hobby. Now, I travel to fun courses and play recreationally when we are vacation together, and he comes to my bouts when he can. When we have alone time, we have interesting things to update each other on. He tells me about his latest ace, I show him my coolest new bruises, and we enjoy each other company.

    So, long story short, find a really fun hobby, and go to her stuff when you can. Days off are always really important, too though. Because, life moves pretty fast:) If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it! (Also my favorite movie of all times.)

    • Thanks for the advice! We do have some separate interests. I suspect that since we lived apart for so long that we’re still trying to spend a lot of time together. Time will probably ease that problem. : )

Leave a Reply

