Heroes vs. Wives, Dylan, and No Direction Home

Everyone has their heroes.

When I was a kid, my hero was Raphael.

Not the painter.

The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle.

I can’t say that I spend much time considering Raphael’s rebel spirit these days, though he is still my favorite hero in a half shell.

My hero is Bob Dylan, who most people probably know from this clip.

The thing about my wonderful wife is that sometimes she can be a little negative.

It can be a little frustrating when I try to share something with her.

When we drove to my wife’s last triathlon — I tried to play Sufjan Stevens’ Illinois album. I thought it would be an excellent 4:00 a.m. album.

My wife was not impressed.

That’s fine. It’s not like he’s my hero.

I went to see The Hold Steady in concert last week. I thought they were unbelievable, but my wonderful wife feels that Craig Finn doesn’t sing enough.

That annoys me.

But I can live with it.

My wife says she doesn’t like Bob Dylan. Dylan’s Never Ending Tour is coming to our neck of the woods in Movember. I don’t want my wonderful wife to ruin this for me.

So last night I negotiated like hell.

And we watched the first part of Martin Scorcese’s documentary No Direction Home.

She said “it was sort of OK.”

Will part 2 be enough to convert her?

Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “Heroes vs. Wives, Dylan, and No Direction Home”

  1. When I was dating my wife, I discovered she listened to a few bands that had a couple of Dylan covers. She didn’t believe Dylan wrote them, so I proved it to her. Now, I can pretty much say “you know Dylan wrote that, right?” about any song, and she buys it.

    And that’s how it became okay for me to listen to Dylan in our house.

    • She sent me an email from work yesterday saying that she wants to watch the second part of No Direction Home. We have tentatively scheduled Part 2 for tomorrow. Cross your fingers.

Leave a Reply

