Han and Chewie, Matching Halloween Costumes, and Negativity

Sometimes my wonderful wife can be a little negative.

For example, she won’t hesitate to say things like “I think that’s a stupid idea.”

Yes, she’ll explain why your idea is stupid, at length, but I suspect that in her eyes we’re all dogs that need to be trained.

Especially me…

It can be awkward going out with her, but it’s not so bad.

Believe it or not, some people say I’m socially awkward.

You get used to it.

So when I hear my wife say things like “What were you thinking?” to strangers, it makes me feel really good about myself.

I feel good because people look at us and think “he’s the sane one.”

It’s true. I am the sane one.

The holiday of sugar-induced madness — Halloween — is approaching so my wife and I have been tossing around matching costume ideas.

To some extent, I’ve been tossing around ideas and my pessimistic partner has been rejecting them.

For example, I think that we could really pull off a Mario and Luigi look. She’s shorter than I am, has curly hair, looks good in blue … I guess that’s where the parallels stop. She’s not much of a jumper.

Anyway, my wife doesn’t want to dress up as a man.

So that knocked out Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, Batman and Robin, Captain Kirk and Mr. Spock…

*Sigh*

How about Han Solo and Chewbacca?

No animals either.

Obi-Wan Kenobi and Master Yoda?

No aliens.

I know a lot of people will suggest my wife take on roles like Princess Leia or Princess Peach. But that’s a little obvious, don’t you think?

I’ve been tinkering with the idea of going out as Captain Picard and she could be Commander Data, but I’m not sure I want to hear my wife reject android lifeforms.

At the moment, I’m thinking about the letters Q and U or else Agents Mulder and Scully.

Because what’s a Q without a U?

And what were the X-Files after they split up Mulder and Scully?

If nothing else, marriage reminds us that it’s good to be needed by someone.

One Response to “Han and Chewie, Matching Halloween Costumes, and Negativity”

  1. Charlie Brown and Lucy
    Big Bad Wolf and Little Red Riding Hood
    Neo and Trinity
    Spider Jerusalem and Yelena
    Rabbit/Hatter and Alice
    Link and Zelda
    Ash and Pikachu (I choose you, Pikachu!)
    Prof X and Jean Grey
    Aragorn and Arwen
    Gimli or Celeborn and Galadriel
    V and Evey
    Optimus Prime and Megatron (technically, they’re genderless)
    R2 and C3P0

Leave a Reply

