I Got Permission to Make a Chili This Week

I got permission from my wife to make chili this week.

I’m pretty proud of that.

Making a chili is a pretty masculine thing to do, I think.

It will fill your house with the smell of hamburger, beans and tomato sauce.

I always associate making chili with my father. And Tim Allen.

Chili also reminds me of the voyageurs, although I’m aware that they were too busy eating pemmican to make chili.

I was born and raised on the prairie near the 49th parallel, where winter means heavy snowfall and cold wind. A good chili may not be essential for survival in the 21st century, but it’s still a good option for those times when we’re looking for a meal that will stick to our ribs.

Not surprisingly, my wonderful wife doesn’t let me cook chili except on rare occasions. Fortunately, a dentist pulled some wisdom teeth out of my face last week,  so I am supposed to eat fairly chewable foods.

Permission granted!

Bernie over at Meals from Mars argues that cooking is about essentials and experimentation. Here are some ingredients that I would argue are essential for a good chili:

  • Ground beef
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Chili powder
  • Tomato sauce
  • Baked beans

I like to experiment with the amounts.

Process:

  1. Chop onions.
  2. Chop garlic until your eyes burn.
  3. Brown the beef with onions.
  4. Open cans of beans and tomato sauce.
  5. Drain the fat.
  6. Add garlic, beans, sauce, and chili powder.
  7. Simmer on low heat.
  8. Eat.

Making a chili can be a lot of fun, and I always like to add a secret ingredient. When it comes to secret ingredients, I prefer when even I’m not sure what it’s going to be until the chili is being made. Today, I went through our cupboards to see what I could find.

There wasn’t much there, but an industrious and resourceful husband can always find something.

The special ingredient in today’s chili turned out to be Samuel Adams Boston Lager.

There are some things that men can do to be good husbands after making a chili, including but not limited to opening the windows to clear the air and washing the dishes. At the very least, remember to rinse.

The chili I made today was really good and I wrote my wife a thank you card for letting me make it (we have a stack of “Thank You” cards left over from our wedding reception, and I am trying to make them pay off in husband points). I have some leftovers to eat tomorrow, which is pretty exciting because the only thing better than a chili is a leftover chili.

2 Responses to “I Got Permission to Make a Chili This Week”

  1. Enjoying your journey exploring the complexities of marriage. You’ll never run out of material.

    • Thanks, “Jim’s Dad.” I was taking mental notes for a while but had to start writing them down, though I’m not allowed to during supper… Sometimes, my wife is very weird. : )

Leave a Reply

