What No One Tells You

I like to think that I’m good at taking advice.

Everyone always told me that my university days would be the best days of my life. I tried my best to do a good job of living up to that. I don’t expect the future to be better. I know I’m going to get older, balder, ricketier… I just want to do my best to enjoy life as it comes.

To be honest, I never expected to marry but since doing so, I have found that there are some things no one warned me about.

The biggest omission? No one warned me about the cats.

Sitcoms prepared me for a lot. Listening to my father and uncles complain prepared me for a lot. Snarky newspaper columnists prepared me for a lot.

Given all that media, you’d think someone would have mentioned the cats.

My wife has four cats and two dogs. And since I am now a live-in husband, I spend my days looking after four cats and two dogs.

How bad are all these animals? If you’re asking that, you have obviously not been warned.

Until now.

Leave a Reply

